Uluru / Ayers Rock Facts

Uluru Facts

Interesting Uluru Facts

  • Uluru is located on a major planetary grid point much like the Great Pyramids in Egypt, these grid points act as a central power station of energy.
  • What is Uluru made of? It is made of arkose sandstone formed over millions of years of geomorphic processes and erosion.
  • Uluru / Ayres Rock rises 348 metres above the desert sands and has a circumference of 9.4 kilometres.
  • Neighbouring Kata Tjuta (Mount Olga) highest peak is slightly higher at 546m above the desert plains.
  • Kata Tjuta, also more commonly known as the Olgas, is Uluru’s sister formation, meaning “many heads” and comprises of 36 magnificently domed and coloured shapes.
  • Uluru – Kata Tjuta National Park has an area of over 311,000 acres.
  • Uluru features stunning Aboriginal rock art sites that can be viewed on guided walks and tours around the base.
  • Uluru / Ayres Rock and Kata Tjuta (Mount Olga) produce an incredible light show at sunset and at sunrise, with crimsons turning to rusts, and pinks to mauves. These times are the most popular viewing times to see their impressive changing colours.
  • On 19 July 1873, the surveyor William Gosse sighted the landmark and named it Ayers Rock in honour of the then Chief Secretary of South Australia, Sir Henry Ayers.
  • The first tourists arrived in the Uluru / Ayres Rock area in 1936. 
  • By 1959 the first motel leases had been granted and Eddie Connellan had constructed an airstrip close to the northern side of Uluru. It is now known as Connellan Airport)
  • In 1985 on October 26 due to a groundbreaking political agreement there was a handing back ceremony where the Australian Government re-gifted the land back to the Aboriginal community. It is now jointly managed to preserve, protect and share this beautiful place with visitors from all over the globe.
  • It is requested by the Anangu people that visitors do not photograph certain sections of Uluru due to their traditional Tjukurpa beliefs. The photographic ban is to prevent Aborigine people from accidentally violating their ancient laws by coming across photographs of forbidden sites in public forums and in the media.
  • There are 22 native mammals found in the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park including dingo, red kangaroo, the common marsupial mole, hopping mouse, several bat species including Australian false vampire, short-nosed echidna, and several small marsupials and rodents.
  • The Red Centre is a complex eco system of life with many examples of rare and endemic plants.
  • Plants are considered an important part of the Anangu way of life, they have long been a valuable source of bush tucker and medicine for local Aboriginal people.
  • The local Anangu people do not climb Uluru because of its great spiritual significance. They request that visitors do not climb the rock, partly due to the path crossing a sacred traditional Dreamtime track, and also due to a sense of responsibility for the safety of their visitors.
  • 35 people have died while attempting to climb Uluru.
  • The Anangu people belong to the local Aboriginal Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara tribesand are the traditional owners of Uluru.
  • The Aboriginal people traditionally recognize five seasons.
  • On 15 December 1993, a dual naming policy was adopted that allowed official names consisting of both the traditional Aboriginal name and the English name. As a result, Ayres Rock was renamed Ayres Rock / Uluru. On 6 November 2002, following a request from the regional Tourism Association, the order of the dual names was officially reversed to Uluru / Ayres Rock to recognize the unique cultural value of the National Park.